The Bracknell Forest Society

Safeguarding heritage, environment, community and future development


home --> bracknell forest

Bracknell Forest Council is one of six unitary authorities that took over responsibilities when Berkshire County Council was abolished on 1 April 1998.

The borough of Bracknell Forest includes the towns of Bracknell and Sandhurst as well as the parishes of Binfield, Warfield, Winkfield and Crowthorne.

Bracknell Forest has one of the highest densities of trees in any local authority with forest and woodland accounting for 39% of land cover.

The Green Belt covers approximately 35% of the Borough in the north and east with a general presumption against development.

The Windsor Forest and Great Park Special Area of Conservation (SAC) and Thames Basin Heaths Special Protection Area (SPA) are important, protected wildlife areas that limit development in many parts of the borough.

The 2011 Census identified 113,205 permanent residents in 47,039 households.


Like most boroughs in the region, there is continued pressure for further residential developments with large scale building of new homes in many parts of the borough. Bracknell is the main urban area in the Borough. Following its New Town designation in 1949, it developed rapidly in the 1950s and 1960s based on a number of neighbourhoods each with its own centre including shops, a primary school, a community centre, a public house and in some instances a church. Great importance was attached to the provision of open space.The Town Centre and employment areas were segregated from the residential neighbourhoods.